You may print out one copy of this article for your personal use. All other uses are prohibited. You may not reproduce, republish or distribute this article in any form. All rights reserved.

©2001-2010 Barbara L.M. Handley

Contact Barbara Handley at contact@eshaoregon.com

Eugene-Springfield Homeschool Association

http://www.eshaoregon.com

A community guide for homeschoolers in Eugene-Springfield and greater Lane County

Oregon Homeschool Law

Meeting the legal homeschooling requirements in Oregon is pretty easy.

Current Legal Requirements

You must register your child with the Education Service District (ESD). This is a one-time only registration. You do NOT register your child until the year he is 7 years old on September 1st.

You may choose (not the ESD) for that year to be 1st grade or 2nd grade. The default is a 1st grade assignment.

You must have your child tested, with an approved, nationally-normed test by an impartial, qualified tester, at the end of 3rd, 5th, 8th and 10th grades.

"By the end" means by August 15th following the completion of that grade. You do not need to submit the test scores to the ESD unless they request them in writing.

Those are the basic requirements of the law. I do recommend that you familiarize yourself with the law and the Oregon Administrative Rules governing homeschooling.

Beyond the bare basics I have provided here, there are provisions for homeschooling children with disabilities, requirements for homeschoolers participating in inter-scholastic sports/activities in the schools, etc.

The testing requirements are slightly different for a child who has just been withdrawn from school (the first test must be AT LEAST 18 months after withdrawal. Therefore, a child withdrawn from 3rd grade would not be subject to the testing requirement until the 5th grade test. A child withdrawn in the 4th grade wouldn't be subject to testing until the 8th grade (the same is true of children withdrawn in the 5th & 6th grades).

The registration/notification requirements are strictly spelled out in the law. You do not need to provide any information that goes beyond those requirements.

The last Lane ESD form that I saw asked for information in excess of that required by law.

You are NOT required to send any further information to the ESD as long as you continue to homeschool -- just registration & test scores. You do NOT need to confirm that you are still homeschooling. The law does not require you to notify Lane ESD if you move to a new ESD, or if you put your child back in school.

Lane ESD
Home Schooling Service
1200 Hwy 99 North
Eugene, OR 97402
(541) 461-8200







©2001-2010 Barbara L.M. Handley
Privacy Policy and Disclosures


Search:
Keywords:
In Association with Amazon.com